Meet My Guinea Pig!

So over the Christmas period I decided to buy a guinea pig. I have been wanting to buy a pet for a long time, unfortunately the flat we have been renting doesn’t not allow pets so that was buying a cat out of the question.

I have always loved guinea pig, mostly for the cute noises they make, and because they are small pets, kept mostly in cages/ hutches I thought that this would be a great pet for us.

I had been looking online for about six months and visiting any pet shop I could just to see them and decide if they were for me. Then one day, a few days after Christmas, I saw this little guy on ‘gumtree’. He had been purchased as a gift for a young girl and she had no interest in him so the parents put him up for sale. I fell in love the moment I saw his fluffy little face and had to have him.

So I messaged the family and picked him up that night! He was originally called Bailey but I didn’t care for the name, it took about 2 days for me to settle on Bernard, but we call him Bernie. SO CUTE.

At first he was very timid, he would rarely leave his bed and ran away as soon as he saw us come in the room, but after a few days of chatting to him (yes I sat and talked to him on my own) and feeding him fresh vegetables by hand he started to come around.

Now he is the most excitable, chatty little guy. He has really come around to us and I couldn’t be happier. I also love how fury he is! He loves being brushed so that has really helped us to bond.

Leave a Reply

